This year, the NSW Architects Registration Board offered up to eight Byera Hadley scholarships for students to travel to the 2012 Architecture Biennale in Venice.

Congratulations to the four UTS students who were awarded scholarships:
Michael Ford, Tracey Hau, Linda Matthews, Joanne Taylor

Other winners (from the University of Sydney) include:
Harry Catterns, William Chan, Jonathan Combley, Jennifer McMaster

The Byera Hadley Travelling Scholarships have been awarded since 1951 as a result of the Trust established by the late Byera Hadley. The Trustee for the Scholarships is The Trust Company Limited and the Scholarships are administered by the NSW Architects Registration Board.

Byera Hadley was a distinguished architect and educator.  He became Head of the Department of Architecture at Sydney Technical College in 1914.  During his private practice Mr Hadley designed and built many fine buildings, a notable example of which is Wesley College within the University of Sydney.

The purpose of the Byera Hadley Travelling Scholarships is to enable recipients to undertake a course of study, research, or other activity approved by the Board which allows: “the promotion and encouragement of education of students of and/or graduates in architecture”.

Image credit: student work from Michael Ford (scholarship recipient)