Congratulations to Nora Niasari.

On Wednesday night, 26th May 2010, she was awarded the prestigious Mirvac Design Award at the 2010 Australian Institute of Architects NSW Student Awards for her third year design for a Sydney Concert Hall.

The jury report praised Nora’s design for being “a highly abstract and analytical project which creatively assesses both quantitative and qualitative aspects of the project’s brief. In particular it explores the relationship between musician and instrument to generate an architectural language and three-dimensional matrix of form for the building. It attempts a broader commentary on the cultural aspects of the program and also its city context.”

“The project is well sited within Mrs Macquarie’s Chair and creates an engaging robust dialogue with the Sydney Opera House opposite, all the while facilitating permeability for the pedestrian to move around and through it. The project is a bold, imaginative and ambitious proposal, but at the same time also well resolved and considered – competently addressing the functional brief’s more pragmatic requirements.”

The student work selected is part of the third year design studio at UTS. This studio has been coordinated by UTS Lecturer, Frank Minnaert, for the past three years and has had many successes in this Award, including winners Jessica Paterson in 2009 and Timmy Lum in 2008.